Sharyn’s Adventures in Plumbing Land

bathroom3aAnyways, I decided that since I have all this time on my hands, now that I’m semi unemployed, I should do a bit of stuff around the house. As pretty much everything in the bathroom vanity was getting mouldy thanks to the water leak going on under there – I decided it would be a quick easy job to change the taps, spout and pipes so that everything would be honky dory and dry.

It all started well enough, it took about half a can of WD40 to loosen the nuts on the pipes enough to undo them. Keeping in mind the tiny space I was working in….well I was pretty much high by the time that was done. Anyway, the sudden outpouring of water once I did get the nuts undone was enough to make me consider turning off the water at the mains. Yep, yet again I thought this through thoroughly before I started.

Of course, the hot water system was much harder to turn off than you’d expect and about an hour later all the water was off, the bathroom was full of water (very little of which was in the usual places, most of which was on the floor) and I was hot, smelly, and pretty damn mad. So I had to have a little sit down while I waited for the water to evaporate….

After a couple of hours, I was brave, I was committed (or should have been) and I wasn’t going to let any stupid little taps get the better of me so back into the breach went I. Using every towel in the house, I soaked up most of the excess water, cleaned up the mess I’d made and decided that maybe I should call a plumber to do this.

So back on went the old taps, everything reassembled nicely and I went out and turned the water back on. Aargh! When I’d undone the old taps originally, a bit (well, a lot) of rusty stuff fell off, obviously nothing important, right? Well guess what the rusty stuff was – yep, sure enough it was whatever stops the water pouring out the pipes. Damn, bolt back outside dripping wet to turn the water off again. At that point, I decided I should ring a friend for a chat, rather than do something I’d regret later. Four hours later, slightly cheered, still VERY smelly and covered in a little oil slick from the WD40 I realised that I couldn’t have a shower without turning the water back on, and of course, couldn’t turn the water back on without flooding the house again. Grrrr! At that point, I gave up and went to bed without any supper.

Next morning, with the worst of the icky transferred to the sheets, I was full of enthusiasm for the task ahead. It had struck me during the night that I couldn’t call a plumber until I was a bit less smelly so I had to get this done… Out came the trusty hacksaw to cut the water pipes down a bit coz the taps were floating waaaaaay above the sink. Unfortunately, I couldn’t use the hacksaw in the frame coz it didn’t fit in the space under the sink, so I took the blade out and used it alone. Because of the shape of the sink, I had to sort of bend the blade to get it around the pipes, so naturally I started with a blade about 30 cm long, which quickly shattered and I was using about 15cm of what was left, until it too gave in under the pressure…. anyway, I’m sure you can guess how this went, by the time I was cutting the second pipe I was down to about 5cm blades (of which I had quite a few). Still, at last it was done – time to put the new setup in.

Oh No! Of course, the new set was too big and needed to be cut down. I was still too smelly and gross to be going out in public to buy new hacksaw blades, so out came my minky blades to carefully saw off a big chunk of pipe. But, it did work!
Note: at this point, I was working on the law of averages that says eventually SOMETHING has to work.

It took ages to get the new set installed, coz I had to fiddle around behind the sink where I couldn’t really see a thing and it was all a bit slippery from the WD40, but at last, I could turn the water back on. It took me about 20 mins before I was brave enough to look under the sink, but the floor was relatively dry, so I was hopeful. At that point, stupid, stupid me decided to turn the taps on. Now up until that point, everything had been working relatively well, so I really did have every reason to be hopeful. The cold tap was great – lovely cold water gushing out (and boy did that remind me that now I could use the toilet) but this is where it all fell down… I still don’t know what I’d done wrong, but when I turned the hot tap on, the whole assembly just fell apart. So not only was my bathroom floor getting yet another wash – it was getting a really HOT wash…..

So back outside to turn the water off for the 5 millionth time this weekend, and pull the whole thing apart again. Well, there really wasn’t a lot of pulling to do, it had pretty much pulled itself apart. Slowly, careful, paying attention and using ALL the bits that came in the set, I reassembled the whole thing. Pretty much just in time to shower for work on Monday.

So being the sensible person I am (well, it only took 3 times before I figured this out) I had a shower, washed up and did some washing and DID NOT even THINK about turning the taps on, just in case… I decided to leave that until Thursday, when I didn’t have to work and could call a plumber without having to pay weekend rates.

Anyways, I now have new taps, a new spout (that you can actually get your hands under!) and a almost leak free bathroom. And it only took 3 days, 2 tantrums and one crying fit. So… got anything at your place that needs fixing?

Oh, and just this weekend, I fixed the car……

One thought on “Sharyn’s Adventures in Plumbing Land

  1. Hi!

    Congratulations! Your readers have submitted and voted for your blog at The Daily Reviewer. We compiled an exclusive list of the Top 100 plumbing Blogs, and we are glad to let you know that your blog was included! You can see it at http://thedailyreviewer.com/top/plumbing

    You can claim your Top 100 Blogs Award here : http://thedailyreviewer.com/pages/badges/plumbing

    P.S. This is a one-time notice to let you know your blog was included in one of our Top 100 Blog categories. You might get notices if you are listed in two or more categories.

    P.P.S. If for some reason you want your blog removed from our list, just send an email to angelina@thedailyreviewer.com with the subject line “REMOVE” and the link to your blog in the body of the message.

    Cheers!

    Angelina Mizaki
    Selection Committee President
    The Daily Reviewer
    http://thedailyreviewer.com

Leave a Reply

